Joe Zee Reinvents His Favorite ’80s Looks – Read More Style and Fashion Advice on ELLE.com

07Oct10

 

 

Style A to Zee: Making Then, Now

From teen style guru to ELLE Creative Director, Joe Zee has come a long way, baby. Reinventing looks he first fell for in high school, he reminds us why ELLE’s founding rules of fashion still apply

By Joe Zee | October 06, 2010 4:00 p.m.

Photo: Gilles Bensimon; ELLE, August 1989

ELLE, August 1989 (left) and Joe’s take. See more in the gallery below.

Reinventing ELLE’s Most Memorable Looks

In high school, I was one of those dorks who thought he knew it all. Whether it was a question about my future, the calculus problem from third period, or what someone should wear to the prom, I had the answer. And I wasn’t stingy with my knowledge, especially when it came to fashion. Between periods and during lunch breaks at my Toronto school, I could usually be found in front of my locker dispensing style advice, lemonade stand–style. Some kids stopped by with serious inquiries; others snickered and walked off, muttering under their breath. Some passersby got judgments from me, whether they wanted them or not. In any case, I always felt the need to be honest—but constructive.

via Joe Zee Reinvents His Favorite ’80s Looks – Read More Style and Fashion Advice on ELLE.com.

No Responses Yet to “Joe Zee Reinvents His Favorite ’80s Looks – Read More Style and Fashion Advice on ELLE.com”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

